Understand every fee
- Start with
- Contra Help Center, Fees overview
- Format
- Help article, updated 6 Aug 2026
- Time
- Length not stated [1]
Curated external guides · Independent-work platform
Start with Contra’s fees overview and payouts pages, the two free sources that give the fee and payout-timing figures. Read FreelancingTips for the full walkthrough, but treat its money claims as leads: it says freelancers pay nothing, which the fees overview contradicts. [1] [2] [4]
Add Omnitwine as a preferred source on Google| If you want to… | Start with | Format | Time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Understand every fee | Contra Help Center, Fees overview | Help article, updated 6 Aug 2026 | Length not stated[1] |
| Know when a payout arrives | Contra Help Center, Payouts | Help article, updated 13 Mar 2026 | Length not stated[2] |
| Get your first client | Contra Help Center, How to get your first client on Contra | Help article, 24 Feb 2026 | Length not stated[3] |
| Learn how the whole platform works | FreelancingTips, Contra in 2026: The Complete Guide | Written guide, 25 Apr 2026 | About 19 min read[4] |
| Pitch a client well | RemoGrid, How to Get High-Paying Clients on Contra in 2026 | Written guide, 2 Oct 2026 | About 4 min read[5] |
| Fix your profile | Contra blog, Improving your Contra Profile | Company blog, byline dated Feb 2021 | About 2 min read[6] |
| Ask past clients for recommendations | Contra blog, Boost your visibility on your Contra Profile | Company blog, dated Jan 2024 | About 4 min read[7] |
| See the platform’s structure in one read | Flexable, Contra for Freelancers: How the Platform Works in 2026 | Long written guide, 19 Sep 2026 | Length not stated[8] |
| Set up your account step by step | Cleva, How to Join Contra: A Beginner’s Guide for Freelancers | Written guide, 3 Apr 2026 | 7 min read[9] |
Fees overview is a reference page, not a walkthrough. On the Free plan the platform fee is $15 per payment for $1–$499 and $29 for $500 or more. On Pro it is $0. The article caps the fee at $29 per transaction, but it does not say which side pays, so check who is charged on your first payment. At least one independent guide says freelancers pay nothing, and this page contradicts it. [1]
Payouts sets out timing for each method. Bank payouts take 0–3 business days on the faster option and 4–7 on the standard one. PayPal and Payoneer arrive within 30 minutes on the faster option. Standard payouts also hold funds for a four-day safety-clearance period. The page gives no fees by plan, so take those from the fees overview. [2]
How to get your first client on Contra lists six steps: build a profile, invite existing clients to pay through Contra, request reviews, apply to an expert program, apply to jobs regularly, and consider Pro. It pushes toward Contra and does not mention fees. Pro appears once, with no price, so read it for the sequence only. [3]
At about 19 minutes, Contra in 2026: The Complete Guide is the longest free guide on Contra. It covers how the platform works, profile ranking, the March 2026 verification step, Collectives from April 2026 and recurring templates. Skip its money figures. It uses affiliate links, says freelancers pay nothing, and gives a company subscription range with no source. [4]
How to Get High-Paying Clients on Contra in 2026 is a four-minute read on pitching. It describes a three-part pitch: a hook, proof that matches the client’s need, and a low-commitment close. It also suggests live work in case studies and milestone contracts. It carries affiliate links and says Contra charges freelancers 0% commission. That holds for commission, but it leaves out the per-payment fee. [5]
Improving your Contra Profile takes two minutes and lists five checks: two social links, a short bio with your location, three projects, two services each with a rate and deliverables, and a custom URL. Its byline says February 2021 while the page metadata says October 2026. Compare each check with your own profile before you act on it. [6]
Boost your visibility on your Contra Profile gives two tips that cost nothing: ask past clients for recommendations, which needs no Contra account on their side, and invite them to host projects on Contra. The article does not say which of its tips need Pro, so check your plan before you rely on a Pro-only step. [7]
Contra for Freelancers: How the Platform Works in 2026 walks through profiles, the job feed, proposals, contracts, invoicing, escrow and Pro in one read. Flexable promotes its own product, and its fee claims cite no sources. Use it for the structure of the platform, and take every figure from the fees overview. [8]
How to Join Contra: A Beginner’s Guide for Freelancers takes seven minutes and goes step by step through the profile, headline, services, skills and first project. It returns again and again to Cleva’s own USD account, without marking it as an advertisement. Its fee and Pro claims cite no source, so use it for account setup and nothing about money. [9]
Bibliography