Independent-work platform · Features guide

Contra Features

Contra’s most useful features are on the free plan: contracts, invoicing, escrow for fixed and milestone projects, and inviting your own clients. The paid extras are harder to justify. Pro’s analytics and boosts have no published effect, and the digital product fee has two conflicting rates. [4] [1] [8] [3] [2]

Add Omnitwine as a preferred source on Google
On this page

Contra features at a glance

Contracts

What it does
Default, locally compliant or custom PDF contract, with payment terms and e-signature
Who it’s for
Freelancers and clients with project work
The catch
Free plan: $15 per payment on $1–$499 and $29 on $500 or more; $0 on Pro
Worth using?
Yes, once you confirm the fee [6] [5] [14]

Paid projects and invoices

What it does
Fixed, milestone and hourly projects paid into escrow; fixed and hourly invoice billing
Who it’s for
Freelancers who want payment protection
The catch
Hourly invoice billing holds no upfront funds in escrow
Worth using?
Yes for fixed and milestone work [4] [11]

Bring your own clients

What it does
Invite an existing client by name and email to run a project
Who it’s for
Freelancers with clients
The catch
Sourced from a help-centre listing, so exact steps are unconfirmed
Worth using?
Yes, the main reason to use Contra [7] [12]

Discover

What it does
Ranks profiles with a score that is not published
Who it’s for
Freelancers wanting visibility
The catch
Pro gets priority and a boost; no source measures the effect
Worth using?
Free profile yes; Pro only if you test it [1] [12]

Job applications

What it does
Filter jobs by tools, skills and budget; apply, dismiss or refer
Who it’s for
Freelancers looking for work
The catch
No application limit or response time is published; job supply is thin
Worth using?
Use it, but don’t expect volume [7]

Digital products

What it does
Sell a product; Contra is merchant of record for tax, disputes and chargebacks
Who it’s for
Sellers with a fixed-price product
The catch
5% with a $3 minimum, or a $2 to $29 band
Worth using?
Test with a small sale first [8] [1]

Job boost

What it does
Keeps a client’s job at the top of the feed for 30 days
Who it’s for
Clients with a job to fill
Worth using?
Only as a test [2]

Referral reward

What it does
$25 to your wallet when a referred person completes a $500-plus project or subscribes to Pro
Who it’s for
Freelancers with a network
The catch
No cap; the referred person’s reward is not stated
Worth using?
Yes if you already refer people [9]
FeatureWhat it doesWho it’s forThe catchWorth using?
ContractsDefault, locally compliant or custom PDF contract, with payment terms and e-signatureFreelancers and clients with project workFree plan: $15 per payment on $1–$499 and $29 on $500 or more; $0 on ProYes, once you confirm the fee[6] [5] [14]
Paid projects and invoicesFixed, milestone and hourly projects paid into escrow; fixed and hourly invoice billingFreelancers who want payment protectionHourly invoice billing holds no upfront funds in escrowYes for fixed and milestone work[4] [11]
Bring your own clientsInvite an existing client by name and email to run a projectFreelancers with clientsSourced from a help-centre listing, so exact steps are unconfirmedYes, the main reason to use Contra[7] [12]
DiscoverRanks profiles with a score that is not publishedFreelancers wanting visibilityPro gets priority and a boost; no source measures the effectFree profile yes; Pro only if you test it[1] [12]
Job applicationsFilter jobs by tools, skills and budget; apply, dismiss or referFreelancers looking for workNo application limit or response time is published; job supply is thinUse it, but don’t expect volume[7]
Digital productsSell a product; Contra is merchant of record for tax, disputes and chargebacksSellers with a fixed-price product5% with a $3 minimum, or a $2 to $29 bandTest with a small sale first[8] [1]
Job boostKeeps a client’s job at the top of the feed for 30 daysClients with a job to fill$199 with no published resultOnly as a test[2]
Referral reward$25 to your wallet when a referred person completes a $500-plus project or subscribes to ProFreelancers with a networkNo cap; the referred person’s reward is not statedYes if you already refer people[9]

Contracts and invoicing are the features that justify the free plan

Contra offers three contract options: its default template, a locally compliant template, or a custom PDF. It adds payment terms and e-signatures to any of them. That is useful because the contract and payment steps live in one place, and the escrow applies to fixed, milestone and one-time hourly projects. [4] [5] [6] [14]

Verdict: yes, but settle the fee first. Contra’s fees overview sets the Free-plan fee at $15 per payment on $1–$499 and $29 on $500 or more, and $0 on Pro. Check the other party’s plan before you send a contract, because Pro removes the fee. [6] [5] [14]

Bring your own clients is the feature that matters most

Freelancers can invite an existing client by name and email to run a project on Contra. Fastlancer and Memvers both say Contra works best for freelancers who already have clients. The invite is the feature that turns Contra’s free plan into a billing tool, so it is the one to use first. [7] [12] [13]

Discover: free to join, with no published effect

Discover ranks profiles with a score that Contra does not publish. Pro members get priority placement and boosted job-matching visibility, and clients browse profiles and contact freelancers directly. No source gives a figure for how much a boost adds to the work you receive. [12] [1]

Verdict: keep the free profile; test Pro before you pay for it. Pro’s traffic-source analytics are the one visibility extra that is clearly Pro-only, according to Contra’s help article and Fastlancer. Its effect on work is unknown, so compare your inbound enquiries for a month before and after you upgrade. [3] [12]

Digital products: test before you set a price

On the free plan, a digital product costs the seller 5% of the sale, with a $3 minimum and a $29 maximum, according to Contra’s pricing page. A May 2026 help article sets a flat band instead: $2 for sales of $1 to $199, $5 for $200 to $499, $10 for $500 to $999 and $29 from $1,000. On a $50 sale the minimum gives $3 and the band gives $2. [1] [8]

Verdict: list one test product on the free plan and check the fee at checkout before you set a price. Pro removes the product fee on both sources, and Contra handles tax, disputes and chargebacks as merchant of record. Refund rules conflict: the help article says sellers set their own policy, while the Terms say digital purchases are final once access is granted. [8] [11]

The $199 job boost has no published result

Clients can post jobs for free. A boost costs $199 and keeps the job at the top of the job feed for 30 days. It is the only paid client-side visibility product Contra lists. Contra does not say how many applicants a boost brings, so a client should compare the number of applications on a free post first. [2] [1]

Contra Labs is paid evaluation work, not client-finding

Contra Labs is a separate network. Freelancers apply through a portfolio review, a recorded video interview and sometimes a skills task. Selected people do paid work, typically five to ten hours, evaluating AI outputs. It is a source of paid work, not clients, so do not count it toward your pipeline. [10]

Bibliography

Sources

  1. Contra, Pricing (page dated 30 Oct 2026, read 5 Nov 2026) (official)
  2. Contra client help, Understanding Contra’s fees as a client (22 Oct 2026) (official)
  3. Contra Help, What is Contra Pro (5 Oct 2026) (official)
  4. Contra Help, Paid projects (5 Oct 2026) (official)
  5. Contra, Sign contracts feature page (30 Oct 2026) (official)
  6. Contra, Global payments features page (30 Oct 2026) (official)
  7. Contra Help, Applying to jobs on Contra (24 Feb 2026) (official)
  8. Contra Help, Digital products (12 May 2026) (official)
  9. Contra Help, How referrals work on Contra (5 Mar 2026) (official)
  10. Contra Help, Applying to the Contra Labs Network (23 Jun 2026) (official)
  11. Contra, Terms of Service (9 Apr 2026) (official)
  12. Fastlancer, Contra Review 2026 (27 Oct 2026) (independent)
  13. Memvers, Contra review (undated) (independent)
  14. Contra Help Center, Fees overview (updated 6 Aug 2026) (official)