Founder community · How it works guide

How Indie Hackers Works

A free Indie Hackers account cannot post straight away. It waits through an anti-spam period, no length is stated, and that wait decides your first week. IH+ members post from day one. Product listings and milestone posts come after you can post. [1] [2]

Add Omnitwine as a preferred source on Google
On this page

Joining and posting, step by step

Sign up for a free account

Who acts
You
The clock
None stated
If nobody acts
You can read the forum, and you stay a reader [3]

Wait out the anti-spam period

Who acts
Indie Hackers
The clock
Length not stated
If nobody acts
You cannot post yet [1] [2]

List your product in the Products directory

Who acts
You
The clock
None stated
If nobody acts
Your product is not listed [3]

Choose IH+ (optional)

Who acts
You
The clock
Billed annually at $198; 30-day pro-rated refund, per one reviewer
If nobody acts
You keep the free account and its wait [1]
StepWho actsThe clockIf nobody acts
Sign up for a free accountYouNone statedYou can read the forum, and you stay a reader[3]
Wait out the anti-spam periodIndie HackersLength not statedYou cannot post yet[1] [2]
Pick one group and write your postYouNoneA post in the wrong group can lose visibility, one guide says[3]
List your product in the Products directoryYouNone statedYour product is not listed[3]
Post a milestone with a numberYouNoneNo milestone appears on your profile[3]
Choose IH+ (optional)YouBilled annually at $198; 30-day pro-rated refund, per one reviewerYou keep the free account and its wait[1]

The anti-spam wait decides your first week

Free accounts must wait through an anti-spam period before they can post. IH+ members can post from day one. No length is stated, so you cannot plan around a number. If you have a launch date, sign up well before it. [1] [2]

Read, wait, then post in one group

Sign up, read the forum while your account waits, and choose one group that fits the post. A guide lists Growth, Building, Marketing, Money, Launch and Self-Care, and says posting in the wrong group can hurt visibility. Write a title and a body of 800 to 2,000 words, and keep any product mention to two sentences at the end. The tips page has the rest. [3]

Listing a product and posting a milestone

The listing asks for a name, a tagline, a website URL, a description of 200 to 500 words, the tech stack, optional monthly revenue and the founders. Milestone types are Launch, First Customer, MRR Milestone, Press and Other. One 2026 guide gives this field list. [3] [2]

Where people get stuck

Three traps come up: posting before the wait ends, choosing the wrong group, and posting a launch announcement with no numbers. Vendor guides say specific numbers draw the most useful replies. Features covers the Products directory's revenue ranking. [4] [2]

Bibliography

Sources

  1. Profitable Founder, “Is Indie Hackers Worth It? An Honest 2026 Review” (25 Sept 2026) (independent)
  2. SaaSCity, “Best Indie Hacker Communities in 2026” (30 Oct 2026) (independent)
  3. Where To Submit, “How to Post on Indie Hackers and List Your Product (2026)” (4 Sept 2026) (independent)
  4. Distribution Base, “Indie Hackers for SaaS distribution” (3 May 2026) (independent)